top of page

Research Awards


The objectives of the Society of Phi Zeta are to recognize and promote scholarship and research in matters pertaining to the welfare and diseases of animals. To this end, the National Society of Phi Zeta conducts a Research Manuscript Award competition each year.  Award recipients receive a check for $1,000 and an inscribed plaque.


The Society invites chapters to submit up to two outstanding research manuscripts to be judged for an award in one of two categories (one manuscript per category): 

  • Basic Research category

  • Clinical or Applied Research category

Each Phi Zeta chapter may sponsor up to two candidates — one for each of the award categories. The application must state under which category each manuscript is being submitted.  



  • The candidate does not need to be a Phi Zeta member.

  • The candidate must be a veterinarian involved in a graduate or research program within the past 2 years. This means that a current resident/intern or a recent graduate would be eligible.

  • The candidate must be the first author.

  • The paper must have been either accepted for publication or already published in a peer reviewed journal. If accepted but not yet published a verifying letter from the journal is required.


If your chapter has more than one paper in one or both of the categories you will need to do an internal review to choose which one you want to submit BEFORE sending to the chair of the research awards committee. In this case you should decide on an internal deadline that will give you enough time for this before your final submission.

Recipients of each award will be selected by a committee of members from 8 chapters per year, beginning with Auburn University and proceeding alphabetically through the institutional names. With 32 chapters, each chapter's reviewing responsibility will recur every 4 years.

Submission Process

Awards Committee


Auburn University, Epsilon Chapter

Cornell University, Alpha Chapter

Colorado State University, Theta Chapter

Kansas State University, Sigma Chapter

Lincoln Memorial University, Alpha Theta Chapter

Louisiana State University, Tau Chapter

Elizabeth Rozanski, Past Chair, Tufts University, Alpha Beta Chapter (tie-breaker)


Midwestern University, Alpha Eta Chapter

Mississippi State University, Omega Chapter

North Carolina State University, Psi Chapter

Ohio State University, Delta Chapter

Oklahoma State University, Nu Chapter

Oregon State University, Alpha Gamma Chapter

Purdue University, Omicron Chapter

Ross University, Alpha Zeta Chapter


St. George's University, Alpha Delta Chapter

Texas A & M University, Eta Chapter

Tufts University, Alpha Beta Chapter

Tuskegee University, Rho Chapter

University of California - Davis, Lambda Chapter

University of Florida, Upsilon Chapter

University of Georgia, Xi Chapter

University of Illinois, Mu Chapter

bottom of page